Life Update – International Business Travel

LIFE UPDATEHappy Hump Day!

I’ve been traveling internationally for the past couple of days/weeks so that’s why my posts have been a bit sparse. I apologize in advance, I will be traveling until the end of August, so I’ll probably be uploading twice a week.

Anyways here are a couple of life updates.


International Travel
If you’ve been keeping up with my posts, you’ll know that I’ve recently started a new job a couple weeks ago. So as you might have guessed, I was thrilled when I found out that one of my first assignments at work was International. At the age of 22, recent college graduate, first couple weeks on the job and I got chosen for international travel. I felt, and still feel super blessed to have been on this assignment.

I was thrown right into the fire. A new international location, new team, and a new job that I had very little knowledge of what exactly I was going to do. Here are a couple of tips if you’re starting a new job.

Be Flexible: Flexibility is key when starting off at work. I could’ve easily said that I wasn’t interested in international travel. However, that would’ve meant that my doors would be closed in a future assignment.

Work Hard Play Hard: Traveling is most definitely fun, however remember that you’re there for work. You’ll most likely have long days, but that means after work go out to a nice dinner, watch a movie in the hotel room, or just go out for ice cream!

Network: Network, network, network. The networking doesn’t stop after college, it continues on into your career. This means networking with other new hires and managers, even networking with other departments is great! You’ll never know when you’ll need someone’s help.

Ask: If you don’t understand something, just ask! Everyone knows you’re new at the job and doesn’t expect that you know or learn everything off the bat. That doesn’t mean that you should ask your manager every single question, research it first and then ask!

Summer Parties
I always seem to have family/friend parties coming up. I’ll have a quinceanera next week, a block party, a birthday party, and I’m possibly planning a Labor Day weekend getaway.

Summer is quickly leaving us and I’m hoping to enjoy the very last bits of it.


That is all I have for today. Be safe and have a great week! xo.

 

Leave a Reply

